How much does usability contribute to credibility?

I found this fantastic tool to test the contrast between colours used on a website
http://juicystudio.com/services/colourcontrast.php#contrast

I have been relying on this tool and using the findings to form a base for my arguments in accessibility audits that I have carried out.

What struck me is that I haven’t really invested any time in deciding whether I trust these findings or not. They have placed the W3C recommendations as a guide about acceptable tolerances of colours:

((Red value X 299) + (Green value X 587) + (Blue value X 114)) / 1000

This really doesn’t mean much to me. I haven’t taken the time to understand what this means or in fact read it in any detail, I have just taken it as fact that the tool is using this algorithm and is producing accurate results for me.

So what has made me trust this?

  • a word of mouth recommendation; and
  • its reference to the W3C

What makes me use it and keep on using it?

  • the subconscious trust I have as a result of the above; and
  • it gives me results, fast
Leave a Reply

