what user testing is not – part 2

In my last entry What user testing is not, I spoke about the use of wireframes and screen shots of visual design as a means of getting user’s feedback. The following day, I had to put together a few pages for a client to show how a site might look and work. Before I sent it off I asked some of my peers to review and provide comments, with the instruction – ‘don’t pay too much attention to the image as this is just a placeholder. I am proposing that we have an image here, but it won’t be this one’. 

50% of respondents commented on the image, in that it didn’t fit with the design etc.  

This is an example of why wireframes and visuals are not useful in user testing as they will not see beyond what they are looking at.

Leave a Reply

