Christmas shopping online!

I’m not sure whether this is worse than fighting your way through crowds in the city centre shopping area.

A day (if I can last that long) shopping in town – leaves me feeling tired and my legs and feet ache, but I would have possibly bumped into someone I know and had a chat and some Christmas wishes and in some bizarre way feel a bit of the Christmas spirit.

A day shopping online (and yes for me it does take as long)– leaves my wrist and mouse fingers with a feeling of RSI, my eyes tired and a desperate need for some fresh air.  If you don’t know what you’re looking for browsing for gifts is much more difficult. You can search for gift ideas, but generally you need to have some idea of what you are looking for. The Web (for me) doesn’t lend itself to impulse buying or spontaneous gift ideas.

Is this about the usability of websites or limitations you have with interacting with a PC? Probably a bit of both – the websites could be improved, but we are limited by our human capacity to sit in front of a PC all day. 

Leave a Reply

