online booking forms

It has been a couple of weeks since I was last here – I could blame the fact that I got so annoyed when I lost my post last time, but that would be a slight exaggeration. I have just been really busy, which is a very poor excuse indeed. But I’m now back, so here we go; the first moan of the week.

I was going to talk about online booking forms. Why do British Airways make you guess which destinations they fly to? I know they probably fly to most destinations but I bet not from every airport. I was trying to find out whether they fly from London Gatwick to Cyprus. If I go to Easyjet and select Gatwick from the departing from dropdown list, it automatically populates the destinations you can choose from (listing only those that you can get to from Gatwick). However with BA you select the departing airport and then have a free text field to input the airport code or city I want to go to.  There are three problems here.

  1. How do I know what the airport code is?
  2. I’m left guessing whether they actually fly into
    Cyprus.
  3. What cities are in
    Cyprus?

So I took a chance and just entered Cyprus and got an error message ‘There are several close matches for your airport name. Please select the one you require from the pull down menu and resubmit your request’. So now I get a drop down list with the cities they fly into. So why don’t they just do this at the beginning?

Leave a Reply

